Peter the Persnickety

by Breckyn Wood

Loved seeing Peter save the day by facing his fears

4.0 rating
January 7, 2021

My seven-year-old is a pretty great eater and got such a kick out of this story because Peter, well, isn’t. We loved seeing Peter save the day by facing his fears.

The Christian Bookworm Podcast

A book for picky eaters

5.0 rating
December 9, 2020

This is a fun Silver Tales book about Peter who has to find medicine for the kingdom, but he has to overcome his pickiness about food. It’s a nice quality hard back book just right for early readers. The novelty of it is that it defines some more challenging words for this age group right in the story.

Linda L


4.0 rating
August 14, 2020

Cute story, but not one of our top favorites.
There are new, challenging words introduced and I thought it clever how they defined it with, “which is a fancy way for saying…..”.

Monica Casperson

One of our favorites

5.0 rating
August 12, 2020

We loved his book! It’s a great story about doing something hard in order to help others. Peter is such a likable character, and my kids could definitely relate to him!

Laura F.

Clever story!

5.0 rating
August 10, 2020

I liked this little book a lot! It’s hardbound and just the perfect size for small hands. The font is just right for newer readers. The story is clever and fun, and one that gets read over and over again! My little guys love it best, but even my older kids pick it to read aloud to the younger ones because they like it so much.

Danielle B
Read Review Policies
Level 2

Prince Peter only like eating three things, even though the palace cook tries her best to tempt him with delicious alternatives. When the people of the kingdom fall ill, Peter’s pickiness seems like a good thing, but in the end he learns that he can only save the day if he is willing to face his fears.

Parents and children alike will enjoy this story, full of beautiful illustrations, as they learn that sometimes it’s good to step outside of their comfort zones.

54 pages, hardcover

Atlas and His Amazing Adventure, Peter the Persnickety, Gwennie and the Great Green Forest, and Princess Penny Saves the Day are part of our Silver Tales Series. These hardcover Level 2 books with whimsical illustrations and uplifting messages are all original publications and can be read in any order.

Suggested Items