The Journey of Five

by Jenny Phillips

Each chapter of the Level 3 Phonics Read-Together Books begins with a phonics page. The phonics principles studied are then reviewed repeatedly and reinforced within the engaging chapter. The parent and child take turns reading their labeled sections, which allows the child to dive into rich literature and complex plots and experience greater joy in reading. These books improve reading fluency, speed, and accuracy; expose the child to model writing; instill a love of good books; and create bonding time for the parent and the child. In addition, the books are packed with powerful messages about moral character.

When the river suddenly dries up without explanation and strange soldiers demand gold to make it flow again, the village council chooses a group of five special people to discover who these soldiers are and how they are controlling the flow of water. “These five will journey forth bravely and wisely, representing every person in the land, to discover how we can overcome this challenge without weapons and without war. . . . Our freedom and our way of life will never be the same if this mission does not succeed.”

  • 187 full-color pages
  • 5.5”x8.5”
  • Perfect binding

This read-together chapter book, along with Heather and the Highland Pony, Timothy of the 10th Floor, and The Kingdom of Kind, is included in the Phonics Read-Together Book Set, which is integrated with the Level 3 Language Arts Course. This book is perfectly aligned with phonics principles the child has learned.

You Might Also Like